Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections

Collective Management

2014 CM

ABOUT PEOPLE'S CO-MANAGEMENT

People’s is a co-managed (aka collectively managed) workplace. Full-time workers are eligible to become a Co-manager after working at the co-op for 9 months. We call this 9-month term to become Co-managers "confirmation".

Our 30 person Co-management (CM) makes broad-scale decisions using modified consensus. The CM manages the operations of the co-op, and works to accomplish the Ends that our Board of Directors establish. This all happens while working within the parameters set by the Board in their policies. The CM approves the annual strategic plan and operating budget, written personnel policies, job descriptions, its own processes and more.

The CM has a system of self-accountability and is ultimately accountable to the Member-Ownership through our owner-elected Board of Directors.

ABOUT PEOPLE'S CONSENSUS

The Collective at People’s uses consensus for full-group decision-making. The same principles we use in these settings can also be applied to teams, committees, and other small groups.

Consensus has been used as a decision-making method in many cultures during many times. Many of the consensus tools we use at People’s are a blend of traditional Quaker and “contemporary” methods. Through these processes, we hope to find the sense of the group and to come to agreement on the essence of a decision. We don’t expect to agree on every detail.

Consensus acknowledges that all participants have a piece of the truth. It encourages participants to share those truths, to listen openly to the truths of others, and to work toward decisions that reflect the whole group intention and serve its greatest good. Consensus embraces individual perspectives, while emphasizing the good of the whole.

Meet the Co-Management

(confirmed to the CM)

Dusty Bloomingheart, Hands-On-Owner & Volunteer Coordinator, Storekeeper/Cashier, dusty at peoples.coop

Miguel Board, Technology Coordinator, miguel at peoples.coop

Lisa Bogar, Storekeeper, lisab at peoples.coop

Stephanie Buddenbaum, Bulk Buyer, stephanie at peoples.coop

Kim Card, Produce Keeper , kim at peoples.coop

Jenna Chen, Marketing & Membership Manager, jenna at peoples.coop

Ben Clark, Produce Keeper/cashier , benc at peoples.coop

Virginia Currin, Storekeeper/cashier , virginia at peoples.coop

Karna Conyers, Storekeeper/Cashier, karna at peoples.coop

Kris DeMaria
Financial Coordinator/Bookkeeper, kris at peoples.coop

Justin Dewan, Produce Keeper, justin at peoples.coop

Nina Diouf, Storekeeper nina at peoples.coop

Cari Eisler
Non-Foods and Herbs Buyer, cari at peoples.coop

Shawn Furst
Development Manager, shawn at peoples.coop

Ryan Gaughan, Alcohol and Frozen Buyer, ryangaughan at peoples.coop

Bryn Harding, design manager, brynh at peoples.coop

Daniel Horton
Herb Buyer, Social Justice and Equity Coordinator, daniel at peoples.coop

Ben Magaziner, Bulk Buyer, bmagaziner at peoples.coop

Rachel Markley
Operations Manager, Storekeeper/Cashier, rachel at peoples.coop

Courtney Sahl, Grocery Buyer, courtney at peoples.coop

Padrice Stewart, Personnel Manager,  padrice at peoples.coop

Miles Uchida, Financial Manager, miles at peoples.coop

Ed Vint, Producekeeper/Cashier, ed at peoples.coop

Kahadish Wa'adabisha, Perishables and Dairy Buyer, kahadish at peoples.coop

Meet our Full-time CM-track Staff

(on track to CM confirmation)

Brandon Hyde, Physical Plant Manager, brandonhyde at peoples.coop

Ashley Todd, Farmers' Market Coordinator, ashleytodd at peoples.coop

Paige Pineshadow, Storekeeper, paigepineshadow at peoples.coop

Amanda Coleman, Produce Keeper, amandacoleman at peoples.coop

Kathryn Kucera, Storekeeper, kathrynkucera at peoples.coop

Meet our Part-time, Substitute Staff

Deborah Buckley, Lyla Emery, Joe Ferguson, Amandalyn Friedland, Ariana Jacob, Rebecca Jamieson, Karen Kerschner, Annie LoPresti, Jenny Owen, Amanda Paul, Anastasia Petrie, Jessamyn Johns, and Rochelle Koivunen

Document Actions